Arundhati Roy and Her Writings

Arundhati Roy is one of the most prominent writers of our age. Roy’s name is often found in news headlines every second day following her political writings.

Roy has remained active since the publication of her first book. She has written two novels. One was published in 1997 and the second one came in 2017 after a long gap of twenty years.

Arundhati Roy’s first novel The God of Small Things was a big hit as it won her the prestigious Man Booker prize in 1997 and has been a best seller. The author has worked on the controversial topic of incest.

Her second novel The Ministry of Utmost Happiness has three major characters in different parts of the story who cross their ways during this lengthy piece of work. The first part has Anjum as a protagonist- a transgender born in Old Delhi. Next, we have S. Tillotama and Musa with their love plot. We meet Revathy- a lower caste woman from Naxal hit area. The story takes us from the streets of old Delhi to the hilly terrains of Kashmir.

About Author /

BlogOpine is about anything which converges with life, but not everything which do so. BlogOpine is about what is new, but it does not skip what has already passed.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

Start typing and press Enter to search